The most popular question I am contacted about is how to go about getting a medical marijuana card in Arizona. Here is the process I have used as a patient: (if you are under the age of 18, there is a separate process– feel free to connect with me if you would like details/assistance).Schedule Appointment – A Medical Marijuana Physician Certificationis required for your application. This can be signed by any doctor (MD, ND, DO licensed to practice medicine in AZ) that can certify your qualifying condition:
Cancer Glaucoma, Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV), Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS), Hepatitis C, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), Crohn’s disease, Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or the treatment for a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition that causes:
Cachexia or wasting syndrome;
Severe and chronic pain;
Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy;
Severe or persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
PTSD, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
If you have a personal physician that you are currently working with that will sign your attestation, you would contact them for an appointment and pay according to your typical arrangement. If you are not currently working with a physician or working with one who is not supportive of medical marijuana, there are specialty clinics that will certify your qualifying condition for a fee that can be upward of $150 for the visit. Find one most convenient for you as they are all about the same in offerings/rates. What is it exactly are you paying them for?
The law and rules specify requirements for issuing written certifications for patients for the medical use of marijuana. A physician is required to:
- Have made or confirmed a diagnosis of a debilitating medical condition, as defined in A.R.S. § 36-2801, for the qualifying patient; Have established a medical record for the qualifying patient and am maintaining the qualifying patient’s medical record as required in A.R.S. § 12-2297;
- Have conducted an in-person physical examination of the qualifying patient within the last 90 calendar days appropriate to the qualifying patient’s presenting symptoms and the debilitating medical condition the physician diagnosed or confirmed;
- Have reviewed the qualifying patient’s medical records, including medical records from other treating physicians from the previous 12 months, the qualifying patient’s responses to conventional medications and medical therapies, and the qualifying patient’s profile on the Arizona Board of Pharmacy Controlled Substances Prescription Monitoring Program database;
- Have explained the potential risks and benefits of the medical use of marijuana to the qualifying patient, or if applicable, the qualifying patient’s custodial parent or legal guardian;
- If the physician has referred the qualifying patient to a dispensary, have disclosed to the qualifying patient, or if applicable, the qualifying patient’s custodial parent or legal guardian, any personal or professional relationship I have with the dispensary; and
- Attest that, in the physician’s professional opinion, the qualifying patient is likely to receive therapeutic or palliative benefit from the qualifying patient’s medical use of marijuana to treat or alleviate the qualifying patient’s debilitating medical condition.
This is just a fancy way of saying that the doctor is going to make sure that you’re medically in need of marijuana and qualify based on the above. Some of these places also offer to complete your paperwork to the state for you for an additional fee, though it is something you can save yourself some money by doing yourself if you feel comfortable technologically submitting documents online. Once you have this form signed from your physician, you’re all set to complete the rest of your items on your own.
Fill Out, Sign, Upload, Pay.
It is that simple. Fill out your Patient Attestation form, sign and date it. Upload this document with your Physician’s signed & dated form, in addition to a passport style photo, state identification, and additional info with your online application. Once you pay your fee to the state, your application is complete and then you wait to hear about your status. Check your mail box for your card in the mail or a letter from the state requesting further documentation!
Learn more about our State MMJ program HERE, FAQ about the program, or about application instructions / application checklist.